MUSIC

Coexist

You’re smoking cigarettes

In the back of your house

I watch the liquor spill

And drip from your mouth

You said you’re holding on

To old memories

They keep you from moving on

To all of your dreams
But it wasn’t the best and it wasn’t the worst

When I feel you again I want to know if it hurts

But to tell you the truth

I’m not the person you knew

But it wasn’t the best and it wasn’t the worst

When I feel you again I want to know if it hurts

But to tell you the truth

I’m not the person you knew
Cut it off, cut it off

Take pieces of me

Cast away, ricochet

To where you want to be

And when you feel complete

Give them back to me
Cause it wasn’t the best and it wasn’t the worst

When I feel you again I want to know if it hurts

But to tell you the truth

I’m not the person you knew

Cause it wasn’t the best and it wasn’t the worst

When I feel you again I want to know if it hurts

But to tell you the truth

I’m not the person you knew
Anymore

I am sure

And then I took you by the wrist

Told you that we can’t coexist

Friendly banter

Tonight’s a blur

“Are you good?” and “How ya been?”

We do this time and time again
Cause it wasn’t the best and it wasn’t the worst

When I feel you again I want to know if it hurts

But to tell you the truth

I’m not the person you knew

Cause it wasn’t the best and it wasn’t the worst

When I feel you again I want to know if it hurts

But to tell you the truth

I’m not the person you knew
Cause it wasn’t the best

And it wasn’t the worst

 

Leave a Reply

